Most Active Stories
- Discovering 'The Hidden South': A Conversation With Photojournalist Brent Walker
- MARTA To Lose Millions Due To 'Birthday Tax' Change
- A Talk With The Vermont Artist Who Won A Trademark Fight With Chick-fil-A
- Cobb County Woman Jailed For Cursing At Cops Wins $100K Settlement Against County
- 25 new hours of new local programming
Local Program Hosts
Wed January 2, 2013
New State Laws Take Hold in 2013
A new year brings some new state laws. Starting in March, the state will phase out the ad velorem tax vehicle owners pay each year. Instead, car buyers will pay a one-time tax that hits a maximum of 7%.
Now, married couples in Georgia who file their taxes jointly will get a break. The marriage exemption will increase by $2000 this year.
A change to Georgia’s DUI law also took effect. Repeat offenders used to have to wait a year before reapplying for a driving permit. Now, they need to wait 120 days or complete a court-approved treatment program.
They’re also required to install an “ignition interlock” device which checks to see if a driver has had any alcohol before starting the car.
And, a new law allows conversations between victims of domestic violence and their advocates to remain confidential. It also eliminates a former law that let married victims of domestic violence avoid testifying in criminal cases against their spouse.